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To: Members of the Council of Postsecondary Education
From: Commissioner Jim Purcell, Ed.D.

Date: April 1,2015

Re: REVISION OF RESIDENCY POLICY

Background

Section 702 of the Veterans Access, Choice and Accountability Act of 2014
requires all states to grant in-state tuition status to GI Bill beneficiaries residing
in a state while attending a public postsecondary institution in that state. Any
public institution of higher education which is found not to be in compliance
with those guidelines after July 1, 2015 will no longer be approved to receive
veterans’ educational benefits. In Rhode Island, compliance can be met through
a revision of the current Residency Policy concerning in-state tuition
requirements for military members and their families.

Furthermore, the Residency Policy must continue to meet the requirements of
the Reauthorization of the Higher Education Act of 2008, which required
public postsecondary institutions to grant in-state tuition to active duty
military members and their spouses and dependents if they were attending a
state institution while stationed in that state or immediately after establishing
residency in that state.

The Office of the Postsecondary Commissioner has developed a revision to the
Residency policy which would meet both federal laws by granting in-state
tuition to the following individuals:

- An active duty member or the spouse or dependent of an active duty
member of any branch of the Uniformed Services who has been on
active duty for a period of more than 30 days.

- Any active duty member who is injured while on active duty and
whose injuries causes him/her to be on active duty for a period of less
than 30 days.

- A veteran of the Uniformed Services who is eligible for federal GI Bill
educational benefits.

- Any other individual who is eligible for transferred federal GI Bill
educational benefits or the Fry Scholarship.

The revision requires that active duty military members, their families, and
veterans will receive in-state tuition regardless of their state of residency. Any
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other individuals (spouses or dependents using GI Bill benefits) will be
required to live in the state of Rhode Island in order to receive status as an in-
state resident.

This policy revision will facilitate active duty military members and veterans’
access to our public postsecondary institutions. In many cases, these students
are funded in full by their Post 9/11 GI Bill benefits but the Post 9/11 GI Bill
will only pay for in-state charges. This will alleviate the burden of securing
additional funding for out-of-state fees while still guaranteeing a revenue
source for the schools. Spouses and dependents using transferred benefits will
still enjoy the benefit but the additional requirement that these students live in
the state of Rhode Island will prevent the numbers from becoming too
burdensome on the schools.

According to numbers gathered in the fall of 2014, out of state VA beneficiaries
made up only four percent of the total VA population at CCRI, seven percent
of the VA students at RIC, and sixteen percent of the beneficiaries at URI. As
such, we do not anticipate this policy revision to have a significant financial
impact but it will make a strong statement about our commitment to our
military members and their families.

The Department of Veterans Affairs has reviewed the proposed language and
confirmed that if passed, Rhode Island will be considered to be in compliance
with Sec. 702 of the Veterans Access, Choice, and Accountability Act. The
public postsecondary institutions were invited to comment on the policy and
their feedback has been incorporated. The policy was also reviewed by the
Board of Education counsel.

This policy revision is strongly endorsed by the Associate Director of Veterans
Affairs, the RI National Guard, the Rhode Island Veterans Education
Committee and the VetSuccess on Campus Coordinator.

This is being introduced for discussion at the April 1st Meeting. Further
discussion and a motion to approve will be considered at the next Council
Meeting.

Motion
It is recommended -

THAT the Council of Postsecondary Education (CPE)
approve the revisions of the Residency Policy.

Attachment
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A. CHARGES FOR TUITION AND FEE

1.

A student who is a resident of \;State df‘?ﬁhode Island ! 1all be classified
as a "resident student' and shall p ion and fees prescribed by the
Board of Governors for in-state studentgf ‘public higher education.

A student who is not a resident of the _éite of Rhode Island shall be
classified as a "non-resident student” and'shall pay tuition and fees
prescribed by the Board of Govemors for out-of-state students in public

“higher education.

A student who is neither a U.S. citizen nor a permanent resident of the
United States, and who meets the following requirements to establish
Rhode Island residency, shall pay tuition and fees prescribed by the Board
of Governors for in-state students:

e Students who, and unemancipated students whose parents have been
granted authorization by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security to
remain in the U.S. in any status that allows him or her to establish a
domicile in the U.S., and who present evidence of being domiciled in
Rhode Island for at least one year as provided in Section C. below.

Notwithstanding the above, in-state tuition and fees are available to a
student who meets the following criteria:

e The student has attended an approved Rhode Island high school
for three (3) or more years and continues to live in Rhode Island;
and

a. The student has graduated from an approved Rhode Island high school
or received a high school equivalency diploma from the state of Rhode



B. DEFINITIONS

1.
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Island; and
If the student is not a U.S. citizen and/or does not have lawful
immigration status, he or she has filed an affidavit with the institution
stating that the student has filed an application for lawful immigration
status, or will file such an application as soon as he or she is eligible to
do so. The failure of a student to file an application for lawful
immigration status as soon as he or she is eligible will result in a
forfeiture of in-state tuition rates in the future; and

a. The student is not ,and if unemancipated his or her parents are not, a
non-immigrant alien within the meaning of paragraph (15) of subsection
(a) of section 1101 of title 8 of the United States Code,

Nothing in these regulations shall be construed to revoke, amend or
otherwise affect any agreement relati tudent tuition and fees now in
effect or entered into in the future purs o the provisions of the New
England Board of Higher Education-Comp

For the purpose of determinin ,,m-state and out-of-state classifications, the
word residency shall mean domlcﬂe  ‘legal, documented true and
permanent home and place of habltat or the unemanclpated student,
the domicile will be that of the parents and/or guardians (with the exception
of individuals qualifying for federal Gi Bill. beneflts as outlined in section C
(3))- For the emancipated student, the domici ’WI|| be that of the student.

If any of the aforesaid tests are not met, the student shall be presumed to
be unemancipated.

C. CRITERIA

1.

Unemancipated Students
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Any unemancipated student whose parents and/or guardians have
been residents of the state for one year immediately preceding the
first class day of the first semester of the student's registration in a
public college or university shall be classified as a resident student
as long as the parents and/or guardians continue to be residents of
the state.

Any unemancipated student who initially was classified as a non-
resident student may thereafter obtain re-classification only if the
student's parents and/or guardians establish and maintain residence
in Rhode Island for a period of at least one year prior to the first class
day of the semester for which the student seeks to be re-classified
as a resident student.

The residency of an unemancipated student, including those whose
parents and/or guardians are divorced or legally separated, shall
follow that of the parent or guardian who has legal custody or the
parent or guardian who is responsible for the financial support of the
student, whichever favors the student's request for resident student
status.

An unemancipated student under guardianship shall be required to
present satisfactory documentary evidence of the appointment of the
guardian in addition to a certification of the residency of the guardian,
which shall be considered the residency of the student unless there
cumstances indicating that such guardianship was created
or the purpose of conferring resident student status on the

1) At the time of emancipation, the student's parents and/or
guardians were residents of Rhode Island for one year
immediately preceding the first class day of the first semester
of the student's registration at a public college or university; or
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Having become emancipated, the student establishes and
maintains residency in Rhode Island for one year immediately
preceding the first day of the first semester of the student's
registration at a public college or university; and

2) The student does not hold residency in another state or
foreign country; and

3) The student is and continues to be a resident of Rhode Island.

b. Any emancipated student who initially was classified as a non-
resident student may thereafter obtain re-classification as a resident
student only if the student establishes:and maintains residency in
Rhode Island for a period of at one year prior to the first class
day of the semester for which.r ificati
is being sought.

c. A student from another state or foreign cou’" ry who is enrolled at a
public college or university for more than six credits per semester
shall be presumed to ily for educational
purposes and will be pres ave not been & (eSIdent of the
state during the time so enrol Continued presence in Rhode
Island during vacation period: \,V.or occasional interruptions in the
course of study will not, of itself, overcome these presumptions.

3. Active Duty Military Members, Veterans, and their Families

a. Pursuant to the reauthorization of the federal Higher Education Act of
2008 and passage of the Veterans, Access, Choice and Accountability
Act of 2014, the following individuals shall be entitled to classification
as a Rhode Island resident for the purpose of determining tuition and
fees:

1) An active duty member or the spouse or dependent of an
active duty member of any branch of the Uniformed Services
who has been on active duty for a period of more than 30
days.

2) Any active duty member who is injured while on active duty
and whose injuries causes him/her to be on active duty for a
period of less than 30 days.

3) A veteran of the Uniformed Services who is eligible for
federal Gl Bill educational benefits.
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4) Any other individual who is eligible for transferred federal Gl
Bill educational benefits or the Fry Scholarship.

b. This determination shall apply to both undergraduate and graduate
students.
C. Any qualifying individual must meet the academic and eligibility

requirements of the University of Rhode Island, Rhode Island
College or the Community College of Rhode Island and any school,
college or program within those institutions to which the individual
might apply. Once the qualified individual is admitted to one of those
institutions, he/she may then be granted resident status for the
purpose of paying tuition.

d.  Any active duty member, spou :
orders demonstrating active“dt status, Any veteran or otherwise
qualifying GI Bill recipient'must have a € ertificate of Eligibility issued
by the Federal Department ‘of Veterans ‘Affairs as the appropriate
confirmation of federal Gl Bill educational beneflts

‘dependent must submit service

e.  Any active duty military service m ’"’"ber or veterans?seeklng in-state
tuition rates under the above lis ed qualifications will be eligible for
consideration regardless of their. state of residency. Any other
qualifying individuals seeking m-state.tuntlon status under this policy
must live in the state of Rhode Island ,Awhlle attending the public

I’e fO!’;\"N‘hICh an individual has resided i ln the state Wl" not factor into
determmatlon of resndency status.

The in-state tuition rate benefit to qualified veterans, their spouses
and depvendents begins on July 1, 2015. Therefore, qualified
veterans, and any qualified spouses and dependents are eligible for
state‘ uition rates for any term of enrollment begun after July 1,

2015; Any student who enrolled prior to July 1, 2015 but meets the
eligibility requirement after July 1, 2015, may apply for re-
classification as an in-state student.

h. The status as a Rhode Island resident does not apply immediately to
state-sponsored financial aid. In order to qualify for state-sponsored
financial aid, a veteran must be a Rhode Island resident since
January 1st prior to the academic year in which the applicant enrolls
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at an institution. The student’s Free Application for Federal Student
Aid (FAFSA) must be filed on or before March 1 for the year in which
the student is seeking state-sponsored financial aid.

i. Students who originally apply for federal financial aid as an out-of-
state student and are then re-classified as an in-state student under
this policy may have their overall financial aid package adjusted in
accordance with the in-state tuition rates.

D. PROCEDURES FOR INSTITUTIONS

1.

The institutional residency officer shall classify each person accepted by a
public college or university as a resident or non-resident student. Said
classification shall be based upon all relevant information made available to
the residency officer, including, but not limited to, information submitted by
or on behalf of the student. The residency officer may, as a condition of
registration, require such written documents and other relevant evidence as
are deemed necessary or helpful to determine the residence of the
applicant.

Any student who has been classified as a non-resident student and who
claims that his or her status has changed during attendance at the institution
may request the residency officer for a re-classification, submitting relevant
evidence in support of this claim.

officer's decision to the Board of Residency Rewew The residency officer
shall thereupon transmit the record, including a statement of the reasons
for the decision to the Board of Residency Review, and the board shall
decide the appeal upon the record together with such additional written
information as the student may furnish or the board may require. The Board
of Residency Review shall hold an informal hearing. The decision of the
Board of Residency Review shall be final.
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PENALTIES

Misrepresentation of facts in order to qualify for resident student classification shall
be considered cause for the recapture of back-due tuition and/or for suspension or
permanent exclusion from a public college or university. Moreover, it may subject
the student to criminal prosecution.
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A CHARGES FOR TUITION AND FEES

1.

A student who is a resident of the State of Rhode Island shall be classified
as a "resident student" and shall pay tuition and fees prescribed by the Board
of Governors for in-state students in public higher education.

A student who is not a resident of the State of Rhode Island shall be
classified as a "non-resident student" and shall pay tuition and fees
prescribed by the Board of Governors for out-of-state students in public
higher education.

A student who is neither a U.S. citizen nor a permanent resident of the
United States, and who meets the following requirements to establish Rhode
Island residency, shall pay tuition and fees prescribed by the Board of
Governors for in-state students:

e Students who, and unemancipated students whose parents have been
granted authorization by the U.S. Depariment of Homeland Security to
remain in the U.S. in any status that allows him or her to establish a
domicile in the U.S., and who present evidence of being domiciled in
Rhode Island for at least one year as provided in Section C. below.

Notwithstanding the above, in-state tuition and fees are available to a
student who meets the following criteria:

¢ The student has attended an approved Rhode Island high school for

three (3) or more years and continues to live in Rhode Island; and

a. The student has graduated from an approved Rhode Island high

school or received a high school equivalency diploma from the state of
Rhode Island; and
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b. If the student is not a U.S. citizen and/or does not have lawful
immigration status, he or she has filed an affidavit with the institution
stating that the student has filed an application for lawful immigration
status, or will file such an application as soon as he or she is eligible to
do so. The failure of a student to file an application for lawful
immigration status as soon as he or she is eligible will result in a
forfeiture of in-state tuition rates in the future; and

c. The studentis not ,and if unemancipated his or her parents are not, a
non-immigrant alien within the meaning of paragraph (15) of subsection
(a) of section 1101 of title 8 of the United States Code,

Nothing in these regulations shall be construed to revoke, amend or
otherwise affect any agreement relating to student tuition and fees now in
effect or entered into in the future pursuant to the provisions of the New
England Board of Higher Education Compact.

B. DEFINITIONS

1.

For the purpose of determining in-state and out-of-state classifications, the
word residency shall mean domicile: ‘the legal, documented, true and
permanent home and place of habitation. For the unemancipated student,
the domicile will be that of the parents and/or guardians (with the exception
of individuals qualifying for federal Gl Bill benefits as outlined in section C
(3)). For the emancipated student, the domicile will be that of the student.

The term emancipated student shall mean a student who has attained the
age of 18 years and whose parents and/or guardians:

(@) have entirely surrendered the right to the care, custody and earnings
of such student; and

(b)  have not claimed the student as a dependent for tax purposes for two
years; and

(¢)  do not provide regular financial assistance to the student; and
(d) whose income was not taken into account by any private or
governmental agency furnishing financial education assistance to the

student, including scholarships, loans, or otherwise.

If any of the aforesaid tests are not met, the student shall be presumed to be
unemancipated.

C. CRITERIA

1.

Unemancipated Students

a. Any unemancipated student whose parents and/or guardians have
been residents of the state for one year immediately preceding the
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first class day of the first semester of the student's registration in a
public college or university shall be classified as a resident student as
long as the parents and/or guardians continue to be residents of the
state.

Any unemancipated student who initially was classified as a non-
resident student may thereafter obtain re-classification only if the
student's parents and/or guardians establish and maintain residence
in Rhode Island for a period of at least one year prior to the first class
day of the semester for which the stude‘nt seeks to be re-classified as
a resident student.

The residency of an unemanc:pated student including those whose
parents and/or guardians are divorced: or legally separated, shall
follow that of the parent or guardian who has legal custody or the
parent or guardian who is responsible for the. fmancnal support of the
student, whichever favors the student's request»for resident student
status. ‘

An unemancipated student under guardianship shall be required to
present satisfactory documentary evidence of the appointment of the
guardian in addition to a certification of the residency of the guardian,
which shall be considered the residency of the student unless there
are circumstances indicating that such guardianship was created
primarily for the purpose of conferring resident student status on the
student.

An unemancipated student whose parent or guardian is a member of
the Armed Forces and stationed in the state pursuant to military
orders shall be entitled to the classification as a resident student
during any semester the first class day of which is encompassed by
the orders.

Emancipated Students

Any emancipated student may be classified as a resident student if
the student meets the following tests:

1) At the time of emancipation, the student's parents and/or
guardians were residents of Rhode Island for one year
immediately preceding the first class day of the first semester
of the student's registration at a public college or university; or

Having become emancipated, the student establishes and
maintains residency in Rhode Island for one year immediately
preceding the first day of the first semester of the student's
registration at a public college or university; and

2) The student does not hold residency in another state or foreign



S-5.3
country; and
3) The student is and continues to be a resident of Rhode Island.

b. Any emancipated student who initially was classified as a non-
resident student may thereafter obtain re-classification as a resident
student only if the student establishes and maintains residency in
Rhode Island for a period of at least one year prior to the first class
day of the semester for which re-classification as a resident student is
being sought.

C. A student from another state or foreign country who is enrolled at a
public college or university for more than six credits per semester
shall be presumed to be in Rhode Island primarily for educational
purposes and will be presumed to have not been a resident of the
state during the time so enrolled. Continued presence in Rhode
Island during vacation periods or occasional interruptions in the
course of study will not, of itself, overcome these presumptions.

Active Duty Military Members, Veterans, and their Families







¢ finaroial aid

Pursuant to the reauthorization of the federal Higher Education Act of

2008 and passage of the Veterans, Access, Choice and Accountability

Act of 2014, the following individuals shall be entitled to classification

as a Rhode Island resident for the purpose of determining tuition and

fees:

1)

An active duty member or the spouse or dependent of an

active duty member of any branch of the Uniformed Services

who has been on active duty for a period of more than 30

___days.

2)

Any active duty member who is injured while on active duty

and whose injuries causes him/her to be on active duty for a

period of less than 30 days.

3)

A veteran of the Uniformed Services who is eligible for

federal Gl Bill educational benefits.

4)

Any other individual who is eligible for transferred federal GI

Bill educational benefits or the Fry Scholarship.

This determination shall apply to both undergraduate and graduate

students.

Any qualifying individual must meet the academic and eligibility

requirements of the University of Rhode Island, Rhode Island College
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or the Community College of Rhode Island and any school, college or

program within those institutions to which the individual might apply.

Once the qualified individual is admitted to one of those
institutions, he/she may then be granted resident status for the

purpose of paying tuition,

Any active duty member, spouse, or dependeni must submit service

orders demonstrating active duty status. Any veteran or otherwise

qualifving Gl Bill recipient must have a Certificate of Eligibility issued

by the Federal Depariment of Veterans Affairs as the appropriate

confirmation of federal Gl Bill educational benefits.

Anv active duty military service member or veterans seeking in-state

fuition rates under the above listed qualifications will be eligible for

consideration regardless of their state of residency. Any other

gualifyving individuals seeking in-state tuition status under this policy

must live in the state of Rhode Island while attending the public

postsecondary institution of their choosing. However, the amount of

time for which an individual has resided in the state will not factor into

the determination of residency status.

The residency officers at the institutions have the right to request

addifional documentation and have the authority {o make the final

determination whether a qualified individual ultimately gualifies for in-
state tuition rates. -

The in-state tuition rate benefit o qualified veterans, their spouses

and dependents begins on July 1, 2015. Therefore, gualified veterans,

and any qualified spouses and dependents are eligible for in-state

tuition rates for any term of enrollment begun after July 1, 2015. Any

student who enrolled prior fo July 1, 2015 but meets the eligibility

requirement after July 1, 2015, may apply for re-classification as an

in-state student.

The status as a Bhode Island resident does not apply immediately {o

state-sponsored financial aid. In order to qualify for state-sponsored

financial aid, a veteran must be a Rhode lIsland resident since

January 1st prior to the academic year in which the applicant enrolls

at an institution. The student’'s Free Application for Federal Student

Aid (FAFSA) must be filed on or before March 1 for the year in which

the student is seeking state-sponsored financial aid.

Students who originally apply for federal financial aid as an out-of-

state student and are then re-classified as an in-state student under

this policy may have their overall financial aid package adjusted in

accordance with the in-state tuition rates.
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D. PROCEDURES FOR INSTITUTIONS

1.

The institutional residency officer shall classify each person accepted by a
public college or university as a resident or non-resident student. Said
classification shall be based upon all relevant information made available to
the residency officer, including, but not limited to, information submitted by or
on behalf of the student. The residency officer may, as a condition of
registration, require such written documents and other relevant evidence as
are deemed necessary or helpful to determine the residence of the applicant.

Any student who has been classified as a non-resident student and who
claims that his or her status has changed during attendance at the institution
may request the residency officer for a re-classification, submitting relevant
evidence in support of this claim.

Based upon relevant evidence, the institution may request the residency
officer to re-classify a student, if the student's status has changed during
attendance at the institution. '

If the residency officer determines that the student has become a resident,
the student shall be classified as a resident student effective as of the
beginning of the semester next following the determination. Decisions on
classification will be communicated to the student in written form. Requests
for a change of classification will not be considered more than once in any
semester.

Any student who is classified as a non-resident student by the residency
officer may, by filing a written request with the residency officer within thirty
days of receipt of notification of the classification, appeal the residency
officer's decision to the Board of Residency Review. The residency officer
shall thereupon transmit the record, including a statement of the reasons for
the decision to the Board of Residency Review, and the board shall decide
the appeal upon the record together with such additional written information
as the student may furnish or the board may require. The Board of
Residency Review shall hold an informal hearing. The decision of the Board
of Residency Review shall be final.

E. PENALTIES

Misrepresentation of facts in order to qualify for resident student classification shall
be considered cause for the recapture of back-due tuition and/or for suspension or
permanent exclusion from a public college or university. Moreover, it may subject
the student to criminal prosecution.



